Answers to Common Kashrut Questions

Is all Pasta Kosher?
Date Uploaded: 
Sunday 6th August 2017

All plain dried durum wheat pasta and wheat noodles, including pasta containing egg, is permitted. Pasta which is coloured and flavoured with vegetable extracts such as spinach or tomato is also permitted. Black pasta containing squid ink is not kosher. Fresh pasta is not permitted.

Please note that gluten free pasta often contains emulsifiers which could be of animal origin, and thus should only be purchased if rabbinically approved or bearing a hechsher.